“In The Right Direction!”

As most of you know I am doing my Age Care Cert III/HACC certificate at the moment. πŸ™‚ I have about 5 weeks left to go of the theory and then my 100 hours work placement. This course has really made me open my eyes and look at myself. I have found out things that I didn’t expect and that I can deal with more than I have realized πŸ™‚

IMG_2449

This is a photo of a few of the lovely people I am doing the Age Care course with πŸ™‚ They have become new friends πŸ™‚

L-R Alfie, Me, Judy, Jess and our Trainer Katrina πŸ™‚

As part of this and as I feel I have come a long way doing this course, I decided to have ago at applying for a Disability Support position back in April. I have no qualifications in this area at the moment, but this is the area that I felt really strongly about and what I want to do after I finished this course.

I decided to go in and inquire about the position and see if it might be worth my while applying for it. I had a great informal talk with the CEO and she asked me to drop my Resume in to her. I got it updated and took it in and never heard anything for about a month.Β  I then received a phone call asking if I was still interested in the position and if I would come in for an interview πŸ™‚

Well, of course πŸ™‚Β  I got all dressed up to make a good first impression and had the interview which went for an hour and a half. They seemed very interested in the course I am doing and I was able to answer their questions.I was quite proud of my self afterwards as I felt I came across confident. Even if I didn’t get the job, I knew I had done my best πŸ™‚

Going about my daily business and being so busy with my course I sort of forgot about it, but it was in the back of my mind as I hadn’t heard anything. Then last Monday I got a phone call at school to say I was successful and they had a client for me to meet. I was so excited, I was jumping around and was hanging out till Wed afternoon to meet the client and see if I was suitable to work on the Support Team.

I am now starting on Thursday 27th June working the morning shift to get me trained and I am so stoked that I took the initiative and had a go at the job. It will be wonderful to put into use the things I have already learnt and to be on a support team πŸ™‚ I will be able to continue my training and work with other support teams and also go on and eventually do my Cert 4 in Disability.

You just never know if you don’t have a go at things πŸ™‚

TFL πŸ™‚ Kerri x

3 thoughts on ““In The Right Direction!”

  1. Well Done Hun Xx
    Congrats on the job, I’m sure you will be wonderful!
    As you know aged care so well!
    Best of luck!

  2. Wow that is fantastic news. I am so proud of you. Sometimes it is not easy applying for a job. Well done for taking that step. Sending BIG congrats. I hope it all goes well and the client is a nice friendly person and you get alone with them easily xxoo

Leave a Reply

