“The Latest Craze!”

Do you know what the latest craze in scrap-booking is at the moment!? There is always some new product or technique coming out for us to drool over and wish we had it in our stash!! I know I am hopeless!

Well, K & Company have brought out on the market from CHA (Craft and Hobby Association) Smash Books!”  These are like a journal that you can make into what ever you want!  You just “smash” stuff into it.  Stuff about you or your life, in no particular order. You can add tickets, notes, photos, quotes, cards, doodle, journal what ever you feel like adding to your book!!! Yep, I am jumping on the band wagon not only because they are new and great but because I can make my own and save some money!!!

I have been looking for a great way to make a Family Recipe Book and I think this is the way to go!!!  I have decided to make mine 12″ long x 9″ wide and just cut in half to make the covers and pages you want!  This is to maximize the 12×12 paper and card-stock I already have and that I can make it from ‘my stash!” I can then add pages and dividers as I need them!

They would be great for present for the young and old to decorate and make their own!!   I might even make Jayden one as he loves to draw and write stories etc!!!!

I thought I could make a journal type thing for myself to keep memorabilia and bit and pieces of things that I like in it as the lovely SundayL has done here with hers:

Just copy and paste the link!  http://sundayldesigns.com/smashbook-make-your-own-video-tour/

I am going to make the covers from chipboard for my journal and  for my recipe book I am going to get our local hardware store to cut me some solid covers from MDF for more strength, as I want to be able to pass it down to my boys one day!!! You can use them to scrap photos, journal, stamp, embellish, paint, you name it!!!!

Here is a great video to watch and give you more of an idea of what they are about!!! I am following this lady’s instructions to base mine on!!! The best thing is you can make use of the stash you have and have a unique one of a kind “Smash Book!”

This is the blog!    http://www.smashstoriesblog.com/

I will update you on my Smash Book” as I get it going and I hope you might want to have a go at making one too!!

TFL:) Kerri x

Leave a Reply

